Legal

 

  • Health and Environmental Information and Statistics Division

    5 CCR 1006-2
    (Promulgated by the State Board of Health)
    Last amended 05/16/07 (Regulation 7), effective 07/30/07
    DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENT
    Health and Environmental Information and Statistics Division
    MEDICAL USE OF MARIJUANA
    5 CCR 1006-2

    Regulation 1: Establishment and confidentiality of the registry for the medical use of marijuana

    A. The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (the department ) shall create and maintain a confidential registry (the registry ) of patients who have applied for and are entitled to receive a registry identification card. All personal medical records and personal identifying information held by the department in compliance with these regulations shall be confidential information. No person shall be permitted to gain access to any information about patients in this registry, or any information otherwise maintained in the registry by the department about physicians and primary care-givers of patients in the registry, except for authorized employees of the department in the course of their official duties and authorized employees of state and local law enforcement agencies which have stopped or arrested a person who claims to be engaged in the medical use of marijuana and in possession of a registry identification card issued pursuant to regulations two and three. The department may release information concerning a specific patient to that patient with the written authorization of such patient.
    read more

  •  Don’t forget to stop by our links page to check out a list of our partner web sites from across the internet.

NORML Summary of Colorado Marijuana Law

August 2nd, 2010

 The National Orginization For The Reform Of Marijuana Laws

 Colorado Marijuana Laws

Violations & Penalties

  • 1 oz or less petty offense none $100
    1 oz or less – failure to appear misdemeanor 6 months $500
    Display or use in public misdemeanor 15 days additional none
    1 to 8 oz misdemeanor 6 – 18 months $500 – $5,000 ($600 surcharge)
    More than 8 oz felony 1 -3 years $1,000 – $100,000 ($1,125 surcharge)
    Subsequent convictions over 1 oz could double penalties.
    Medical use permitted with no more than 2 oz, or 6 plants, physician recommendation and state registration.
    16 – 48 hours community service required with diverted prison sentence.

 

Colorado Amendment 20

July 29th, 2010  

 Amendment 20 was passed by Colorado voters on November 4, 2000

It allows qualified patients under a physician’s care to obtain a legal medical marijuana recommendation and register for a Medical Marijuana Identification Card. As a medical marijuana card holder, it is a good idea to become familiar with the laws themselves. We encourage you to read the full text of Amendment 20.

The Colorado medical marijuana registry is regulated and administered by the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE). In order to obtain your Medical Marijuana Registry Identification Card, you must send the following information to the CDPHE:

  • Signed and dated Application for Identification Card
  • Physician’s Certification
  • Photo ID
  • A non-refundable $90 Application Fee

Medical marijuana applications should be sent to:
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
Medical Marijuana Registry
HSVRD-MMP-A1
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO 80246-1530